Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner & Snacks

"I think it's nice that there are all different kinds of lunches and breakfasts and dinners and snacks. I think eating is nice." – Albert from Bread and Jam for Frances, by Russell C. Hoban

Always learning with Collard Greens and Potatoes

DSC01993I got back very hungry after a long day and I wanted to cook something. I looked in the fridge, saw a bunch of wilting collards. I looked in the cabinet, saw a bag of potatoes. I looked online and found this recipe for Collard Greens and Potatoes.

Sometimes there are recipes where everything seems to go a little wonky. All the bowls are too big, the pans are too small, the water won’t boil… This was one of those. I also realized I have never steamed anything before. Luckily, the kitchen in my apartment has a steamer, but it took me a bit of frantic internet searching to figure out what to do. I’m still not sure if I was supposed to steam it with or without a ¬†steamer basket, but I do know it helps to cover the steaming item (doh). ūüôā

I adapted the original recipe because I didn’t have many of the ingredients. I also love onion, so I added an extra one.

I ate this over some pasta, which made it quite starchy. I could see it very tasty with some mushrooms or peppers thrown in, or maybe served with rice. A little extra mustard on top is quite nice. If you have the seasonings from the original recipe, by all means add them.

Collard Greens and Potatoes Рserves 3-4

4 large potatoes, (unpeeled) cut into large cubes
1 bunch collard greens, cleaned, stemmed and chopped Рyou can also chop and reserve the stems and put them in the steamer for a few minutes before adding the rest of the greens
2 medium cooking onion, diced
1 tablespon mustard, to taste
1 teaspoon ground cumin
2 tablespoons butter
5-6 cloves garlic, minced
2 teaspoons fresh ginger, minced
a healthy pinch of sea salt

DSC01990In a large pot boil potatoes (unpeeled) in salted water until they are not quite done (still firm). Drain and set aside.

In a pot with a steamer insert or using a steamer basket, steam collard greens in a 1/2 inch of water in a pot for 10 minutes. Don’t kill the collards, you’ll be cooking them some more. Drain and set aside.

DSC01991Heat a large (large enough for the potatoes and collards to fit as well) pan on medium-high heat, and add the butter. When butter is melted, add onion, and mustard and sauté for a minute. Add garlic and ginger, sauté until onion is translucent.

Add potatoes and ground cumin and stir. Add collard greens. Cook until potatoes are soft on the inside and crispy and browned on the outside and collards are wilted. If too dry add a splash of water or more butter (although the final dish should be dry, not saucy).

A few minutes before the end add a healthy pinch of sea salt. Stir well. Enjoy.

DSC02005

About Natan S.

Natan is a founding member of Theater in the Rough, an group of community minded actors dedicated to bringing quality, affordable theatrical experiences to the Jerusalem audience. Natan also works as a freelance web programmer, and writes about food (mainly ice cream) in his spare time.

Something to add?

Information

This entry was posted on February 7, 2013 by in Dinner and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 806 other followers

Authors

Post Calendar

February 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

Previous Archives

