Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner & Snacks

"I think it's nice that there are all different kinds of lunches and breakfasts and dinners and snacks. I think eating is nice." – Albert from Bread and Jam for Frances, by Russell C. Hoban

What’s for Dinner? Chard and Beans with Goat Cheese Noodles

DSC02016It was another classic “it’s dinnertime, what’s in my fridge?” moment.

Taking stock, I had a bunch of swiss chard and a large log of plain goat cheese. A can of beans in the cabinet. A quick google search yielded these two recipes from 
All Recipes
 and Real Simple.

DSC02017I had a lot more goat cheese than either recipe called for, so I decided to make a combination of the two. I also really like garlic, so I put in 5 cloves. You could add more! I used paprika instead of red pepper flakes and I added ginger because I have some and I like ginger.

I mostly followed the All Recipes version, except when I got to end and combined everything (I didn’t bake anything). I forgot to reserve any pasta cooking water, but you can. I also decided to add goat cheese to both the noodles and the chard, because I had so much.

It came out really nicely, I topped it with a little salsa for kick.

I recommend putting up the pasta and then starting the chard while the pasta is cooking, to save time.

Chard and Beans with Goat Cheese Noodles

half a  1 lb (450 g) box of pasta – I used spagetti
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
1 1/2 tablespoons butter
5 cloves garlic, minced
nice pinch of paprika
1 bunch Swiss chard, rinsed, stems removed and cut into slices
1 (15.5 ounce) can pinto beans, rinsed and drained
1 carrot, chopped
salt and pepper to taste
1 tablespoon fresh lime or lemon juice
~4 ounces goat cheese
ginger
(optional) salsa to garnish

DSC02015Cook the pasta according to the package directions. If desired, reserve 1 cup of the cooking water. Drain the pasta and return it to the pot.

Heat the oil and butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Add garlic and paprika; cook and stir until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add Swiss chard, cover and cook for 4 minutes. Uncover and mix in the pinto beans, carrot, lime or lemon juice, salt and pepper. Cover and continue cooking until the chard is wilted, about 4 more minutes. Stir in some goat cheese.

Combine the pasta with the chard mixture and the rest of the goat cheese (use the bigger pot). If using, add most of the reserved cooking water. Toss until the goat cheese melts and coats the pasta. Taste for salt, pepper, lemon juice. You can add more water if the pasta seems dry.

Serve with salsa, or sprinkled with more goat cheese, or with some fresh cilantro, or anything else that occurs to you.

  DSC02019

About Natan S.

Natan is a founding member of Theater in the Rough, an group of community minded actors dedicated to bringing quality, affordable theatrical experiences to the Jerusalem audience. Natan also works as a freelance web programmer, and writes about food (mainly ice cream) in his spare time.

One comment on “What’s for Dinner? Chard and Beans with Goat Cheese Noodles

  1. Lisa Katz Kleinman
    March 1, 2013

    A nice twist on the classic pasta with greens and beans.

Something to add?

Information

This entry was posted on March 1, 2013 by in Dinner and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 806 other followers

Authors

Post Calendar

March 2013
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Previous Archives

